Eat Safe Award

Information for businesses about the Eat Safe Award scheme.

For consumers the Eat Safe Award provides a recognisable sign of excellence in standards of food hygiene.

Eligible establishments are assessed for the award as part of scheduled food hygiene inspections, carried out by Local Authority Environmental Health Services, who issue Eat Safe Award certificates. The scope of the Award covers all establishments selling food directly to consumers.

How do the Eat Safe Award Scheme and the Food Hygiene Information Scheme operate together?

The Food Hygiene Information Scheme is compatible with the Eat Safe Award scheme. The two schemes although separate, have operated side by side since the two-year Food Hygiene Information Scheme pilot.

The Food Hygiene Information Scheme is designed to rate hygiene standards against the legal requirements and is distinct from the Eat Safe Award scheme, which is designed to recognise businesses that have achieved standards over and above the legal requirements.

More on this topic


Local Authorities

Do you have a question about FHIS or a food business? Please get in touch with your local authority


Food Hygiene Information Scheme

Search our database to see how well food businesses in your area have fared in food hygiene inspections.