About the Eat safe award

Food businesses that strive for excellence in food hygiene.

The Eat Safe Award makes it easy for consumers to know which restaurants, cafés, takeaways and food shops strive for exceptional food hygiene standards and go above and beyond the legal requirement.

The Award  is  open to all types of food outlets, from casual cafés to five star restaurants.  Outlets are assessed by their Local Authority Food Safety Officer for the award during their regular food hygiene inspections.

Check online to see if your favourite restaurant, takeaway or food shop has an Eat Safe Award.

The Food Hygiene Information Scheme

The Eat Safe Award and the Food Hygiene Information Scheme run side by side. The Food Hygiene Information Scheme rates food outlets based on their most recent food hygiene inspection while the Eat Safe Award recognises the businesses that go over and above the legal minimum standards.

More on this topic


Eat Safe Award

Information for businesses about the Eat Safe Award scheme.


About the Food Hygiene Information Scheme

Find out more about your favourite restaurants, cafés and takeaways. 


Food Safety

Food safety isn't just about eating out; it's about keeping you and your family safe in the home too.