Food Liaison Group

The Food Liaison Group is concerned with consistency of food and feed law enforcement activities in individual geographical areas.

The Food Liaison Groups represent all 32 Scottish Local Authorities, divided into four (4) geographic areas across Scotland.  The Groups provide a network to facilitate the collation of good practice identified by Local Authorities and to promote uptake nationally.  This is a vital contribution to the operation of SFELC.  The Liaison Groups also report to the Society of Chief Officers of Environmental Health in Scotland (SOCOEHS) and provide a forum for generating professional advice and guidance on environmental health matters, sharing work experiences and good management practices. 

View the full terms of reference.

East of Scotland food liaison group

Chair – Helen Henderson (Clackmannanshire Council)

Secretary – Margaret Gregory (Angus Council)

Fiona Patterson (Perth and Kinross Council)

Gordon Mason (Stirling Council)

Jacqui Angus (Food Standards Scotland)

Jane Couper (Tayside Scientific Services)

Jane White (Glasgow Scientific Services)

Lindsay Matthew (Dundee City Council)

Lorna Starkey (Fife Council)

Lynne Bissett (Falkirk Council)

North of Scotland food liaison group

Chair – Andrea Carson (Aberdeen City Council)

Secretary – Lynsey Glover (Aberdeenshire Council)

Aidan McCormack (The Moray Council)

Chris Hunt (Edinburgh Scientific Services)

Christine Morrison (Comhairle nan Eilean Siar / Western Isles Council)

David Brown (Orkney Islands Council)

Dawn Manson (Shetland Islands Council)

Graeme Corner (Highland Council)

Kerry Parrott (Aberdeen Scientific Services Laboratory)

Lorna Murray (Food Standards Scotland)

West of Scotland food liaison group

Chair – Karen Wardrope (South Lanarkshire Council)

Vice Chair – Martin Keeley (West Dunbartonshire Council)

Secretary – Brian Whitelaw (North Lanarkshire Council)

Andy MacLeod (Argyll and Bute Council)

Bryan Campbell (Food Standards Scotland)

Catherine Boyd (North Ayrshire Council)

David Hunter (East Renfrewshire Council)

Gerry Fallon (South Ayrshire Council)

Greg Douglas (Dumfries & Galloway Council)

Jane White (Glasgow Scientific Services)

Linda Auld (East Ayrshire Council)

Michael Lapsley (Inverclyde Council)

Paul Birkin (Glasgow City Council)

Robert Marshall (Renfrewshire Council)

Lothian and Borders food liaison group

Chair - Laura Gunning (East Lothian Council)

Chris Hunt (Edinburgh Scientific Services)

Craig Smith (West Lothian Council)

Darren Johnson (East Lothian Council)

Gwen Robertson (Scottish Borders Council)

Karen Gunn (Midlothian Council)

Pat Smyth (Food Standards Scotland)

Paul Bradley (West Lothian Council)

Robbie Beattie (Edinburgh Scientific Services)

Ross Buchanan (Midlothian Council)

Susie McGowan (City of Edinburgh Council)

More on this topic

Description of image



Links to guidance, annual reports and national survey reports produced by SFELC.

Description of image



The Scottish Food Enforcement Liaison Committee (SFELC) meets to help co-ordinate food law enforcement and sampling & surveillance activities of Scottish local authorities.

Description of image



Scottish Food Enforcement Liaison Committee (SFELC) office bearers, and SFELC subcommittee, food liaison group and working group contributors.

Description of image


Scottish Food Enforcement Liaison Committee

The Scottish Food Enforcement Liaison Committee (SFELC) co-ordinates food law enforcement, sampling and surveillance activities of Scottish local authorities.

Arrow_Dropdown Created with Sketch. Arrow_leftArrow_Right Icon_AlchoholIcon_Alchohol_RoundalIcon_AppleIcon_Apple_RoundalIcon_BacteriaIcon_Bacteria_Roundal calorie-outlined Created with Sketch. Icon_CardActivityIcon_CardActivity_RoundalIcon_CarrotIcon_Carrot_Roundal Icon/roundal/Allergen/Celery Created with Sketch. Icon_CertificateIcon_Certificate_RoundalIcon_CheeseIcon_Cheese_RoundalIcon_ChocolateIcon_Chocolate_RoundalIcon_ClipboardIcon_Clipboard_Roundal Icon_CloseIcon_CowIcon_Cow_Roundal Shape Created with Sketch. Icon/roundal/Allergen/Crustaceans Created with Sketch. Icon_CursorIcon_Cursor_RoundalIcon_DeerIcon_Deer_RoundalIcon_download Icon/roundal/Allergen/Eggs Created with Sketch. Icon_Facebook_RoundalIcon-FeaturedIcon_Fish Icon/roundal/Allergen/Fish Created with Sketch. Icon_Fish_RoundalIcon_FizzyJuiceIcon_FizzyJuice_RoundalIcon_ForkIcon_Fork_RoundalIcon_FridgeIcon_Fridge_Roundal Icon/roundal/Allergen/Wheat Created with Sketch. Icon_GrainIcon_GrainNoIcon_GrainNo_RoundalIcon_Grain_RoundalIcon_GraphIcon_GraphResourceIcon_Graph_RoundalIcon_HandIcon_Hand_RoundalIcon_HeartIcon_Heart_RoundalIcon_InfoIcon_Info_Roundal instagram Icon_LambIcon_Lamb_RoundalIcon_LetterIcon_Letter_RoundalIcon_LinkExternalIcon_LinkInternal Icon/roundal/Allergen/Lupin Created with Sketch. Icon_MagnifyingGlassIcon_MagnifyingGlass_Roundal Icon/roundal/Allergen/Milk Created with Sketch. Icon/roundal/Allergen/Molluscs Created with Sketch. Icon/roundal/Allergen/Mustrard Created with Sketch. Icon_NewIcon_NewsIcon_News_RoundalIcon_OilIcon_Oil_Roundal Icon/roundal/Allergen/Peanuts Created with Sketch. Icon_PeopleIcon_People_RoundalIcon_PersonIcon_Person_RoundalIcon_PhoneIcon_Phone_RoundalIcon_PigIcon_Pig_RoundalIcon_PlayIcon_PotatoesIcon_Potatoes_RoundalIcon_PrintIcon_Print_RoundalIcon_ResourceIcon_Resource_Roundal Group Created with Sketch. Icon_SaltIcon_Salt_RoundalIcon_SaveIcon_Save_RoundalIcon_ScotlandIcon_Scotland_RoundalIcon_Search Icon/roundal/Allergen/Sesame Seeds Created with Sketch. Icon_ShellfishIcon_Shellfish_Roundal Icon/roundal/Allergen/Soybeans Created with Sketch. Icon-SpiralIcon_SteakIcon_Steak_RoundalIcon_StopwatchIcon_Stopwatch_Roundal Icon/roundal/Allergen/Sulphur dioxide and sulphites Created with Sketch. Icon_TapWaterIcon_TapWater_RoundalIcon_TestTubeIcon_TestTube_RoundalIcon_ThumbsUpIcon_ThumbsUp_RoundalIcon_Tick Shape Created with Sketch. Icon_Tick_1Icon_Tick_Roundal Icon_TomatoIcon_Tomato_RoundalIcon_TractorIcon_Tractor_Roundal Icon/roundal/Allergen/Tree nuts Created with Sketch. Icon_TrollyIcon_Trolly_RoundalIcon_TurkeyIcon_TurkeyCookedIcon_TurkeyCooked_RoundalIcon_Turkey_Roundal Icon_Twitter_RoundalIcon_WarningIcon_Warning_Roundal Icon_Warning_Roundal_WithBG Icon_WaterDropIcon_WaterDrop_RoundalIcon_WineBottleIcon_WineBottle_RoundalIcon_WineGlassIcon_WineGlass_Roundal youtube Icon_snowflakeIcon_snowflake_RoundalLogo_FSS_Gaelic_WhiteLogo_FSS_WhitePagination_LeftArtboard 69