About the Food Hygiene Information Scheme

Find out more about your favourite restaurants, cafés and takeaways. 

Search the FHIS database

Food Hygiene Information Scheme logo

Sometimes it’s great to let someone else do the cooking. But whether you’re picking up a sandwich for lunch or sitting down to a slap-up meal, it’s important to know the food you’re eating has been prepared to  the standard required by law.

In Scotland, all food outlets have to have a food hygiene inspection, which is undertaken by the Local Authority. Following this inspection the food outlet will be given a Food Hygiene Information Scheme (FHIS) rating based on their inspection results. 

Questions about food businesses

If you have a question or complaint about a food business, including about their FHIS result or anything relating to food hygiene, please contact your local authority.

What do the FHIS ratings mean?

There are three different ratings:

  • Pass means they meet the legal requirements for food hygiene.
  • Improvement Required means the business didn’t meet the legal requirements and needs to make improvements.
  • Exempt Premises means the business has been inspected by a local authority food safety officer, met the pass criteria, but don’t meet the criteria to be part of the scheme.  These businesses are low-risk to people’s health in terms of food safety and you perhaps wouldn’t normally think of them as a food business – for example, newsagents, chemist shops or visitor centres selling tins of biscuits.

If a new business has been set up, or there is a new owner, it will not have a food hygiene rating. These businesses will be identifiable by their ‘Awaiting Inspection’ certificate or rating on our website. 

Following the inspection by the Local Authority, businesses are provided with a certificate and/or sticker to display on their door or window to help consumers make informed choices about where they eat. Therefore whether a business passed the inspection or needs to take steps to improve, it’s easy for you to see how they did in their most recent food hygiene inspection.

Some businesses may choose not to display their rating on their website or premises, but all ratings are displayed on our website.

How you can help

If you know of a business that has stopped trading or started trading without a rating, contact your local authority.

Who takes part?

The scheme covers more than 54,000 food outlets across all 32 Local Authorities in  Scotland. Here, you can search  for specific businesses and see their results. 

The Eat Safe Award

The Food Hygiene Information Scheme and the Eat Safe Award run side by side. The Food Hygiene Information Scheme rates food outlets against the legal food hygiene requirements, while the Eat Safe Award recognises food businesses that strive for excellence in delivering Food Hygiene standards. Eat Safe Award winning premises are those that go above and beyond the legal minimum standard that is required for an FHIS pass. 

More on this topic


Food Hygiene Information Scheme (FHIS)

Information for businesses about FHIS.


Eat Safe Awards

The Eat Safe Award provides an incentive to food businesses to strive for food hygiene and food safety management standards beyond those required by law.


Food Hygiene Information Scheme (FHIS)

Search our database to see how well food businesses in your area have fared in food hygiene inspections.